Hey Internet,

So first this week its just going to be a couple of rental releases because lets face it there is really nothing too amazing in theaters so now I just have to wait for the new Romeo and Juliet. Well I don’t really have time anyway since I’ll be leaving this week to go back to college. I’m really excited to go back but then again I going to miss everyone here and I dreading the workload but hey I still have film class. So, these are gonna be really short because there’s not a whole lot to say about these two movies.

1)   The Guilt Trip (2012)

The_Guilt_Trip_Poster

Director: Anne Fletcher

Starring: Barbara Streisand, Seth Rogan, and Rose Abdoo

Rating: PG-13

The Plot: A son brings his mom on a business road trip to rekindle her with her past love.

The Review: I love Barbara Streisand movies. I personally think she’s great. Ok, so if this mother does not remind you of you mother in some way you were not loved enough. She was definitely the highlight of the movie because although Seth Rogan is funny Barbara Streisand as his mom was so much funnier. This movie was basically just the interaction and relationship between these two. It was funny and sweet and I loved how it ended. It’s really simple and a good past time movie even though it wasn’t the best but like I said Barbara Streisand was the highlight.

Watch it?

Decent and good for a few laughs.

 Trailer Link:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezuLn0Eel6g

More Info: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1694020/?ref_=sr_1

2) Wuthering Heights (2012)

MV5BNjg5NDM2MjA3OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTE0MzA1OA@@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_

Director: Andrea Arnold

Starring: James Howson and Kaya Scodelario

Rating: Not Rated

The Plot: The classic story of Cathy Earnshaw and Heathcliff.

The Review: So, this was a super tiny independent film with not a lot of known people hence why it’s not rated and falls under the experimental film category, I think. Now to begin by saying this was loosely adapted is an understatement really. It was almost not Wuthering Height and yes before you ask I have read the book multiple times. It hand the basic story and spirit but in events and detail it was so different. It was awkwardly paced and due to its low budgetness the sound was not too great. The dialect that the actors spoke was at times hard to understand if they spoke because it was very spare in dialogue and instead opted for shots the were symbolic and metaphorical for what was going on. I thought there was too many of these gritty shots that it almost seemed a bit pretentious. Its unconventional, darker, and a different way of approaching and depicting the torrid love story, but for me, I expected something different and maybe a bit more.  I’m not quite sure how I felt about this one.

Watch it?

If you want to take all that time analyzing the symbolism sure its different but not my favorite or the best adaptation of Wuthering Heights I’ve seen

Trailer Link:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3EceNo1LJj4

More info:  http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1181614/?ref_=sr_1

Until next time,

Jackie

2 thoughts on “Just Some Rentals

Leave a comment